Interview: Sherri Rabinowitz

Today I have a special guest here on the blog.  Her name is Sherri Rabinowitz and she is the author of Fantasy Time Inc., a novel about a travel agency that arranges for people to travel back in time.  I have always been fascinated by time travel, so this piqued my interest.  Here’s what Sherri had to say about Fantasy Time Inc., herself, and writing.

What inspired you to write Fantasy Time Inc.?

There were two things, I have been a nut on time travel since I was child and I saw The Time Machine movie from the 60’s with Rod Taylor. After that I watched and read everything that had to do with time travel and my own humble attempts at in fan fiction. I  also worked as a travel agent at the time. One slow day at work I started to play with the idea of a travel agency to the past. I started to write notes and …Fantasy Time Inc. was born.

Who is your favorite character? Your least favorite character?

Captain Morgan is my favorite, he is the dashing hero of the movies from my youth. Cary Grant, Gary Cooper and Clark Gable all mixed up into one dashing man. He also has a great sense of humor, I love his wit. My least favorite? Hmmm, none really. As an actor I learned you have to love every part in order to portray them so even bad guys are special to me.

If you were a customer of Fantasy Time Inc., what time period would you travel to? Why?

That’s easy the Twenties. I have been interested in that period since I read The Great Gatsby when I was a kid. I love the wildness, the clothes, the excitement and all the change that happened for society and especially for women. Like my protagonist Anne, I know the down side, that if I met my Grandparents (they were in NYC in the twenties) and did something that hurt them I would not be here, or if I killed a bug I could change the language of  our time or change our political history (that was from a classic time travel story my Dad introduced me to.) It is such a slippery slope, I would hesitate.

How long have you been writing? When did you know you were a writer?

I have been writing since I was a child. I knew I was a writer when I started to write fan fiction and newsletters. I began to see that I could do it and I had a place to practice, that was fan fiction. It was a loving safe harbor to learn my craft and try out all kinds of new things. I guess the first time I felt like a writer was when I sold my first story and held a real check in my little hands.

Do you have any hobbies?

Yes, I like to collect; I collect books, stills of classic movies and autographs, stuffed bears, costume jewelry… I also dance and sing.

If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would you go? Why?

There are several places but the next on my bucket list would be Greece and New Zealand because of the show Xena. New Zealand because I saw all those beautiful locations and fell in love. I also researched a lot of my fan fiction stories set in Greece and in using my travel books and on line sites fell in love with the real Greece too.

Tell us one intriguing thing about Fantasy Time Inc.

There is a lot of romance in it but I have snuck some history in it too, I like to teach people but in a pleasurable way.

What are you working on now?

A Classic Sequel and a memoir about my time as an actress in the late 70’s to late 80’s.

Do you plot your novels or do you wing it?

Both, I have an idea of how I want it to go, and sketchy outline, but then as I write I let the characters lead me.

Favorite color? Blue
Favorite drink? tea
Favorite animal? panther
Favorite place to be? home
Favorite time of day? mid-morning

Where can we find you on the web?

http://www.rithebard.com/?alt_id=0H0NG-D1A23-4W5&ts=1335411499574

Thank you so much, Sherri, for joining us today.

If you’re curious about Fantasy Time Inc., be sure to snag yourself a copy!

Leave a comment