Photo Notes: Digital Infrared Photography Testing

So, I finally got around to doing more digital infrared tests! I took some pictures outside in front of my Mom’s house and on the street. The sunlight was absolutely PERFECT for infrared, so I went for it.

These photos actually turn out red in the camera, and I convert them to b&w in post-processing. I’m getting the hang of it. See what looks like snow on the grass? It isn’t snow. It’s the GRASS. B&W infrared turns everything with chlorophyll white, the sky dark like it’s night, and stuff glows. Human skin glows, too.

It’s really neat. I’ve loved it ever since I was taught in college.

(Stay tuned for actual b&w infrared on film. That is also a plan of mine!)

Here they are!

DSC_9497bw-RS
Digital infrared, Mom’s house (and the house where I grew up), pic taken 4/16/16.
DSC_9498bw-RS
Digital infrared, my street, pic taken 4/16/16.
DSC_9499bw copy-RS
Digital infrared, my street, pic taken 4/16/16.
DSC_9500bw-RS
Digital infrared, my street, pic taken 4/16/16.
DSC_9501bw-RS
Digital infrared, my street, pic taken 4/16/16.
DSC_9503bw-RS
Digital infrared. Chevy HHR. Pic taken 4/16/16.

DSC_9504bw-RS

Digital infrared. Mom’s goose. Pic taken 4/16/16.

6 thoughts on “Photo Notes: Digital Infrared Photography Testing

  1. OH! I’m in love. Those trees! Those shadows! I’m swooning! I love tree images, and shadow ones!

    May I please reblog this, and link to it in my new website in the making? I’d be honored to share this!

Leave a Reply

