#ROW80 Check-in 6/17/15 – Quick update

Quickie update as I am dizzy and exhausted. 😦 This week’s been a killer for no apparent reason other than to be killer. But I persevere!

Update:

Fireborn – 785 new words, bringing my total to 15,303 words in draft
Covenant – 1,070 new words for a total of 4,162 words in draft
Survivor – unchanged, waiting till this Sunday
Ever Touched – unchanged but have been pondering stuff

I’m waiting on feedback for Changeling part 2, and once I get that, I’ll be editing/revising. Deadline 7/1.

That is basically it. Eye pain eased off a bit today so I feel a bit better, but work exhausts me. Oh hey, today’s my 14-year anniversary with the company I work for. Longevity FTW. 😉

Chocolate, oh man, the chocolate. And hubby and I discovered s’mores flavored Oreos (and I am an Oreo hound) so we’ve been eating those. I also had some Milky Way bites (okay, a bit more than some), and my usual WW chocolate goodness.

How’s the week going for you?

8 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in 6/17/15 – Quick update

  1. Wait. They make S’Mores flavored Oreos? Yum!

    Great progress this week. I know what you mean about “pondering stuff.” I’ve been doing a lot of pondering for one of my stories–trying to figure out my hero’s character arc before I dig into the second draft. I don’t mind not knowing during the first draft, but by draft two I need to have that figured out. My thinking panned out, though. I’m a lot closer. “Pondering” is definitely part of the process.

    I hope your eye feels better and the dizziness and exhaustion subside.

    And, lastly, congrats on fourteen years at your job!

  2. 14 years is a long time! Longer than I’ve had children, even (that’s how I measure stuff!).

    Pondering is an essential part of the process. I like to ponder in my sleep (I fall asleep thinking of a story issue, and when I wake up, even if I don’t remember my dreams, I have a better sense of things). I also love to ponder in the shower. Hot water on my head has a wonderful effect on my imagination.

    Happy to hear your eye is feeling better – and my kids are going to love those Oreos!

    1. Yeah, it’s funny. The company has been in business for 30 years, so I’ve been there almost half that time. I was in my 20s when I started…now I’m pushing 40. Time really FLIES.

      I also love the shower, too. I get so many great ideas! And dreams. A few of my WIPs came from dreams I’ve had.

  3. Been a full week, what with the Evil Day job. I haven’t hit any time over four year with any one company (either layoffs, switching jobs, or moving). Started my fourth year with current company (would like to make 5 years plus). Over all the productivity has been up for writing more often (at least four days of the week I am working on some project or another). Oh and red velvet Oreos are awesome! 🙂

  4. This is the longest I’ve been with any company. The second longest is 10 years in a fast food restaurant. I was 16 when I started, and finally quit before my first wedding. As a rule, I don’t really change jobs often. I’m a creature of habit, I guess. Four years is good, though. Productivity is also good!

    I’ve had red velvet Oreos. They are awesome! (My hubby got on a red velvet kick — cupcakes, homemade cakes, and sort of burned us out on it. So after a break from all that, they were a real treat).

Leave a Reply

