#ROW80 Check-in 7/23/14 – Lots of wordz

I missed both Sunday’s and last Wednesday’s check-ins because I was swamped with preparing for camping and then actually camping. It was wonderful, and the pop-up trailer we bought was a dream. We’re going to be camping in August (a weekend), September (week), and possibly even October, which will be a first for us.

Sooooo I’m finally getting back into the swing. I’ve managed around 1k a day for the past few days, and I’m very close to the halfway mark on Grave Touched. I’m having a slight crisis of faith with my outline. I’m considering veering in a totally different direction and while I think it’s a good thing, I’m not sure what it’ll do to the second half of the book. I think I can still fit certain things in (like the climax, for an example) but I think others may need to be shuffled. For now, I’m writing it as it comes. I’ll deal with the other stuff after I’ve finished this draft.

This will be my third. Hopefully last.

Stats!

Words rewritten since last check-in: 7,241 words (!!!!!)
Words remaining: 2,759 words (!!!)
Pages edited: 0 (no editing needed yet)
What’s happening: [Redacted] is taking over. Yikes.
What’s next: Bad things. Very bad things.
Eye report: Horrendous for the past two days. 😦 I think there’s a storm coming.
Back report: Not too bad. Twinge-y.
Chocolate consumption (everyone’s favorite πŸ˜€ ): A whole lotta chocolate, too much to list. Including s’mores, 3 Musketeers bars, Twix bar, WW snacks…today I get to sample some chocolate cake (and 2 other varieties) that were made by one of our Mediterranean customers. Should be interesting. (This is the benefit of working in foodservice. SAMPLES YAY).

6 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in 7/23/14 – Lots of wordz

  1. Mmm, samples! I can relate because we have meetings here that get catered and so far today I’ve eaten a half a cinnamon roll the size of my head, a chicken sandwich, a chocolate cookie-dough bar, and I’ve got a lemon bar sitting here on my desk, staring me in the face. I like your ROW80 stats. πŸ™‚

  2. Good to hear you enjoyed the camping. Food for the soul!

    I hear you on the veering away from the outline. I wonder if not worrying about it too much for the moment will help. Have you tried doing a visualisation exercise with the book? Playing the book as a movie in your mind to see what its best version looks like?
    Sometimes the unusual techniques can help to unblock things. πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks, Lisa! Funny you mention visualization — that’s how I got the ideas that are veering me from my outline. Visualization for me has always been very helpful. πŸ˜€

  4. I always go with the veering. And the 90% cocoa bar was a little too dark for my taste….which I didn’t know was possible.

    I hope the eye settles, the back holds out, and the words keep coming, according to the outline or no.

    Sounds like we both had amazing camping trips! =)

  5. I think you’re right about the veering. πŸ˜‰ I have a 70% cocoa dark chocolate bar and it’s a bit much for me, too, so I can imagine what a 90% would taste like. Thanks for the well wishes. I need them. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

