#ROW80 Check-in 5/11/14

First of all, Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there! Especially my own Mother and my Mother-in-Law. Two amazing, wonderful women that I’m so lucky to have in my life.

I’ve got some more words on Awaken Me but I’ve had to slow down to due to my wrist. I also am finding myself stuck on where to go next. That’s one of the issues with pantsing. Sometimes, the road ahead isn’t always clear.

I also wrote a few poems this week to get myself into the rhythm again. And I did my first photo shoot in forever! I even got a few potential HDR pictures (High Dynamic Range — a really neat effect that makes the pictures look otherworldly) – I’m dying to play with them digitally but today is too jam-packed to do anything. Soon. Very soon.

And that’s it for today.

Stats!

Words written: 2,510 on Awaken Me
Words remaining: 32,490 words
What’s happening: The MC has agreed to join the club.
What’s next: Something. I don’t know yet.
Feeling: Would like to write but can’t because wrists. 😦
Eye report: Twinge-y.
Chocolate consumption: Too much. Way to much. And donut holes, but those don’t count.
Mood music: Mostly Adam Lambert these days. Oh, and Def Leppard.

11 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in 5/11/14

  1. What kind of camera do you use? I am in need of a new one-the digital one I have is ancient! (Well, ancient in terms of the way technology moves so quickly these days, LOL)

    I used to be a panster, and still am to some degree, but I find that Jami Gold’s worksheets for writing help me when I hit the tough spots. I hope your wrist feels better! Have a great week and good luck with your goals!

  2. Thanks Kat! I have two digital cameras – a DSLR which is practically obsolete (and it’s interesting how *fast* they become obsolete, right?) and a newer point-and-shoot digital camera. (I also have roughly 10 other cameras, ranging from 35mm manual to plastic to twin lens reflex. I pretty much collect them. Most of them I can’t use anymore.) I used the p&s for last night’s shoot. To do HDR properly, I have software that will merge three different pictures together. It’s really cool.

    As for pantsing…I used to be an outliner, but I found that the magic just wasn’t there. So I’ve pantsed most of my novels since…oh, gosh…5 years ago? Roughly. (I’ve been writing for an insane amount of time, it kind of blurs together now…) I believe I may have seen Jami Gold’s stuff and I remember it was pretty cool. Maybe I should look at it again, huh?

    Thanks for the luck. I’ve managed not to bring on a severe flare-up, but I think I need to stop writing altogether for awhile. 😦 I guess we’ll see. Hopefully I’ll be back at it soon.

  3. I’m sorry about your wrists. I hope they get better soon. As for pantsing, I really enjoy it. It feels great when you are simply going with the flow of writing.

  4. I now have something else to look into – HDR! Because, hey, I’m always on the lookout for a New Shiny Thing to play with. I think I’m part magpie.

    And of course donut holes don’t count. How could they? They’re holes! =)

    I’ve found my happy medium between pantsing and plotting with the rock Your Plot system. It’s like pantsing with a guidance system, or plotting with a sketch rather than an outline…or sometihng like that.

    I am sending your wrists lots of good energy. If you do need to stop for a bit, hopefully the stories will keep on getting born in your hed.

    As for what’s next – you’ll know when you know, and then you’ll know. I like hot showers for that. Once, I was literally stepping out when the flash came – so vivid, I said, “There it is!” out loud, and really confused my husband (he really doesn’t get the writer part of me, but loves me anyway!).

    Wishing you many words, and a body that can keep up with your imagination! =)

  5. Hi Shan! Definitely look into HDR – it is awesome. 😀

    True on the donut holes, but two of them were chocolate. 😉

    This Rock Your Plot system sounds interesting. Will look into it.

    Thanks for the good energy, I appreciate it so much!

    Awesome on the shower revelation! That’s happened quite a few times to me! I’m convinced that water is the key to unlocking the subconscious. 😉

    Thank you, my dear. I hope my body can keep up too! I’m thinking of reopening my darkroom, in which case….it had *better* keep up! LOL.

Leave a Reply

