Uncategorized

ROW80 Check-in the Third

Doing much better than I was before.  It’s still going slow, and some days it’s been like pulling teeth, but I feel more optimistic about it, so that’s good methinks.

(Although on tap for tonight is a rewrite of the scene I just finished because I FORGOT something really important. Ugh.  I tend to do that a lot.)

I’m also wibbling on a character’s name.  She started out as Piper, one of the antagonists, and then ended up as one of the good guys (and the protagonist of book 3).  My fabulous editor asked that I change it because it’s too close to Pixie, a telepathic dog that figures prominently in the series. Since Pixie is in book 1 (and it’s published), I can’t change it.  So Piper became Cara, but I’m just not feeling it.  Naming characters to me is like naming kids — it’s gotta feel right.  I’m leaning toward Skylar, Bethany, and Juliette.  Why oh why is this so damn hard?  I just need to pick a name. (I can always change it later, I guess, but once a character has one name, it’s almost impossible to change it.  As you can see).

So onward to the report part (otherwise known as shut the hell up, Erin):

Running total: 6,193
Words remaining: 68,807
Body count: Everyone’s alive.  For now.
Feeling: optimistically optimistic
Eye report: Not really bad, thank God.  Yesterday’s migraine is gone, too.  Bonus.

9 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in the Third”

  1. I look forward to hearing which name you decide on. Skylar is nice–kinda has an earthy but edgy vibe to it. But ultimately, it’s all about what sounds best for that particular character.

    Good luck with your writing goals!

    BTW, I’m glad you’ve recovered from your migraine. I get them too, and they’re awful.

  2. I hear ya on character names. I’m sure lots of things will fall into place once you get that nailed down. Anyway, just wanted to pop by from the #row80 feed on Twitter to cheer you on! 🙂

  3. That would be hard, choosing a different name for a character after settling in with another name. Maybe if you choose a name that ends with an er like Piper does you might find one that you like better.

    Glad your head is feeling better and great job with your goals so far!

    1. I’m one that has changed dog names because I don’t like the one that came with the dog. I just make them sound similar. Of course you have to stay away from anything that sounds like Pixie but I thought if it ended in er that might work. Glad you like the idea and I look forward to seeing what you come up with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

