Uncategorized

What I’m Reading: Devon Monk, Rob Thurman, Kiersten White, Melissa Marr, Jeaniene Frost…

Lots to catch up on!!

Magic to the Bone, Magic in the Blood, Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk – Omigod, I am so hooked on this series that I plowed through the first 3 books in record time.  Unfortunately, I don’t have book 4, Magic on the Storm, so I couldn’t continue.  It’s on my Christmas list.  This series is very unique because of the magic system.  See, magic users must pay a price — pain, illness, memories (I especially like this given my fascination with memory).  I haven’t really seen that anywhere else.  Also, the magic between the main character and her lover is nothing short of phenomenal.  It’s so neat.  And, naturally, the plot keeps thickening and so much kept me on the edge of my seat.  I can barely wait till Christmas, assuming I get book 4, to see what happens next.

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White – This one caught my eye right away, but it took me awhile to get a hold of it.  Another book with a unique magic system and a great plot.  I’m looking forward to the next book in the trilogy, Supernaturally.  I think the thing that hooked me the most is what precisely Evie, the main character, is and what that means.  It has Fae in it, which is doubly cool.  Not gonna spoil it, but it’s intriguing.

Graveminder by Melissa Marr – I have mixed feelings about this one.  I expected an amazing book with amazing characters like her Wicked Lovely series, and I’m not sure we got that.  To her credit, it’s a very unique, intriguing premise.  The “Graveminder” is a special woman who can more or less control the dead that “wake up.”  And if she doesn’t control them, bad things happen.  This makes me all sorts of happy, because this kind of stuff is just my thing.  Dead, controlling the dead, consequences.  And the world-within-a-world idea was cool, too.  But it lacked something.  I can’t exactly put my finger on what.  I think it might have been the characters.  They weren’t vivid enough, not bigger than life like the others in the Wicked Lovely books…just, blah.  I don’t know.

Now I did enjoy the bond that the main character shared with another man called the Undertaker.  This is an actual bond that draws them together and creates all sorts of fun conflict.  You know I’m a sucker for bonds and conflicts.

All in all, it was pretty good.  If the characters were more vivid, more emotional, more alive, this book would have been out of this world.  I am curious as to whether or not there’s a sequel.  Maybe some things would be better in the sequel if there is one.

Nightlife by Rob Thurman –  I’m actually not done reading it, but I thought I’d talk about my impressions anyways.  Overall, I really like the world Rob Thurman created and the characters.  Really, really neat.  Especially what our main character, Cal, is.  Not gonna say.  He and his brother are on the run from some monsters and Nightlife details their struggles in that vein.  About halfway in, something happens to Cal that completely blew me away.  So far I’m enjoying it immensely.

My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent – Book 4 in her Soul Screamers series.  I love this series and the characters and the world.  This book centers on a new girl in town who isn’t all what she seems.  There’s murder, mayhem, nightmares…it had me dying (ha, ha) to read the next installment, If I Die.

One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost – Just finished this one last night.  It’s book 2 in her Night Huntress series.  I’ve been meaning to read it forever, and got a hold of the first two books.  I really enjoyed this.  Lots of twists and turns, and some big things happening with both the main character, Cat, and her lover, Bones.  I really love them both and their escapades.  I can’t wait to read book 3, At Grave’s End.

So that’s what I’ve been reading lately.  Stay tuned for more.

On tap next are A Brush of Darkness by Allison Pang, The Dead Town by Dean Koontz, Virals by Kathy Reichs, and Tiger Eye by Marjorie M. Liu.

Leave a Reply

