When revision becomes rewriting

Things have been a bit rough with Pirouette.  I completely rewrote Alisia and Lucien’s first scene together, which makes the others different, which requires more rewriting.  I think the change makes it stronger.  I’m also dropping one very important part of the plot, which will also require some scenes to be rewritten.

It’s looking more and more like I’ll be rewriting stuff.  Why?  Because I have gut instincts that are telling me so.  And plot.  Is this scene moving it forward?  Is it necessary?  If the answer is no, I rewrite.

I have cut about 25k so far.  Still need 40k cut, so I’m tightening things up.  At the moment, the book is a mess.  The chapters are all wrong, and I rearranged some scenes for pacing.  I’m not even sure if it makes sense right now.  But I will look at that after I’ve made the changes, when I proclaim this revision done.  I can put it back together and make it pretty once that’s done.  I need to see the entire thing before I do anything else.

So that’s where I’m at.  I’m trying not to look past the day’s work because it seems so overwhelming right now.  I’m on manuscript page 108 of about 900 (double spaced!).  Scary but true.

I’m thinking of calling this draft 3.  Or would it be 4, after the hard copy revisions?  No clue.

I WILL finish this.  Hopefully by the end of the month.  It’ll give me an idea of what it’s like to be on a deadline.  And with my process, I need all the practice I can get.

And……I have two new plotbunnies clamoring for my attention.  Been trying to resist the pull as we speak.  But it’s strong.  But Pirouette is the most important project right now.

Leave a Reply

