query letter

472 pages, and getting close to the end.

I feel pretty damn good about the revision.   Very little needs to be changed, except I had to fill a plot hole.  That one was pretty easy to do.  I’m noticing that as I got farther in the draft, the writing improved.  Not sure what that means exactly, but it’s cool.  I do remember, as I was writing the parts I just revised, I felt like a freight train barreling towards its destination — exhilerated, excited, flying.  I almost felt as if I were experiencing it along with Alisia, Lucien, and Lilia.  Too cool.

I’m not deluding myself.  I might feel differently next pass.  But for now, I’m revelling in the moment.  Re-experiencing the novel.  I know that the distance I gave it was just long enough, b/c again, I’d forgotten alot of the nuances.  I remembered major plot points, but the details lef me.  So that added another layer of fun and excitement to my slog.

I’m also starting to work on a query letter for when Pirouette is ready to see the world.  It’s surprisingly difficult and a bit maddening.  Distilling Pirouette down to a few paragraphs isn’t an easy task.  Then, it has to pique the agent’s interest, be exciting and well-written and not awkward or stilted or…you get the idea.  Been reading up on queries and reading agents’ blogs that have examples in them, trying to figure out what’s good and what’s not.  I have a few ideas, but nothing is gelling at the moment.  Hopefully it will soon.

So that’s where I’m at right now.  On track to finish by the end of this month.  After that, it’s the type-in and crit time.  I’m very excited to be this far in the process.  When I was writing Pirouette’s  second draft (the rewrite) last year, I couldn’t even comprehend being here.  It was just too abstract.  And the manuscript came in waaaaay too long.  And it just didn’t seem like it was going to end.  And that was okay.  But now that I’m here, I’m enjoying it immensely.  It’s kind of weird, but I think I am enjoying this part alot.

Onward, then.  To the Query Letter of Doom.  😉

Leave a Reply

