On the Revision

I’m 114 pages in, and I’m loving it.  There is a kind of freedom that comes with this — the freedom to change.  Nothing is truly set in stone anymore.

So as I’ve been ripping my manuscript apart, cutting things, adding things, planning things, I’ve been keeping my eye on the prize: the finish line.  And a novel that will be one step closer to submittable.

Twenty pages a day (roughly 2 chapters) has been my goal.  I started on Jan 1st, to hopefully give me good luck (I’m very superstitious about numbers, and the Ace in Tarot is usually a positive, very new thing, so it worked) and I haven’t stopped since.  Every night, I print off 20 ages and I slice ’em and dice ’em and pray.

Part of me worries that these changes I’m making are not for the best.  But, I really don’t think that’s the case.  I  feel positive and empowered and renewed and happy.  I always thought Revision would be a sloggy, torturous process.  It’s not.  It’s actually alot of fun.

As mentioned before, I’m using Holly Lisle’s One-Pass Revision process.  I feel that this is a great method and I wanted to give it a shot.  I believe that using this process will help make the novel better than if I’d done something else.  I feel it.  Much how I feel like I’m getting closer to my goal.

So the next 20 pages await me.  Imma gonna fly.

Leave a Reply

