Uncategorized

Nano progress and new goals

Just wanted to post about my progress on Nano.  I’m up to 27k and am officially ahead.  These weekends seem to be working out well to keep up the pace.  According to my Nano report card (a spreadsheet made to keep track of your progress), I should finish 3 days early.

Another thing that’s been helping is word wars.  They are basically friendly “wars” between writers where each writer tries to get as many words as possible in a set amount of time.  I’ve done 31 to date (yes, I’ve been counting!) and they’ve really helped me keep rolling, even when I didn’t feel like it.

The story is going very well.  I added in something I hadn’t planned for comedic value and conflict.  I’m up to Chapter 6, and this is where the mystery/conspiracy starts.  Fun.  *rubs hands together and laughs evilly*

The voice rec however is going okay, but the mis-recognitions are getting worse.  I think it’s due to not having the headset on in the exact perfect spot, and I’ve been experimenting with it.  I may need to train it some more.  We shall see.

I have been typing a bit, when my wrist doesn’t hurt, but have been following my rule: that if I so much as feel a twinge of pain, it’s back to voice rec.

I’ve also been thinking about next year and have made a few changes to my goals.  The priorities now are to finish the first edit pass of Pirouette the Rewrite and start the revision.  Also, finish Flamebound and at some point, start its edit/revision.  And lastly, I want to finish Survivor and start the rewrite.

Pirouette needs to get out the door ASAP.  It’s been languishing too long — I’m more than ready to work on it.  But Nano was a last minute decision, so I had to set it aside.  I will be going back to it in December, whether it’s fulltime or parttime while I finish up Hereafter.  I’m almost positive that Hereafter won’t be finished in 50k.

Second, Survivor has also been languishing.  I stopped working on it to write Flamebound, and the plan was to get back to it and finish it this year.  Not happening.  So I want to devote as much time as possible next year to making some major progress on it.  It’s been 4 years.  And I still believe fervently that it’s brilliant and quite possibly be a bestseller (yes, I’m confident).  So it means some serious work.  So that’s the plan as of right now.

So, I think I]ll be making my 50k, and that makes me happy because while I wasn’t dead set on winning, I was hoping to.  And with the voice rec, it’s been a huge challenge.  To win with voice rec would make my year, I think.  😀

Leave a Reply

