NaNo by voice.

To update, I just broke 19k on my NaNovel, Hereafter.  The bulk of t has been written using voice recognition, as my wrist is not a happy wrist right now.  And all my data files are on my dead computer, so it’s been slow going, but I am making steady progress.

I just wrote a scene that I hadn’t planned on writing.  I tend to be organic when it come to details.  I mentally rearrange and refigure things from the outline.  I have a really good memory, so I can go weeks without looking at it.  Sometimes I think it’s a gift, because it allows me to fill in the blanks, come up with stuff on the fly.

I’ve been pretty tired, as voice reccing 2k a day is pretty trying.  But it’s teaching me that it is possible to write more with VR.  Sometimes I get headaches from the headset, so lately I’ve been taking breaks.  Seems to be working.

I’m trying for 15k or so per week, which would leave me a whole week to finish it up (or catch up, as it were).  I was behind for awhile, and then caught up and got a bit aead last weekend.  Thank the Lord for weekends!

A small snippet:

He put his hand up as if he was going to reach for me, but then he dropped it. “I’m okay with the challenge. What I’m not okay with is the outcome.”

“You’re truly afraid for me, aren’t you?” I mused, glancing at Patricia, who just entered the field. She was carrying a longsword. “Um. Why does she have a sword in her hand? I thought we were fighting.”

“You are.”

I couldn’t take my eyes off of the sword glinting in the twilight. “So…. we fight using swords?”

Wow, you are brilliant tonight. Simply brilliant.

Luke nodded. “That’s correct.” He reached behind him and produced a similar looking sword. “This sword is mine. I like you to use it.” He held out to me reverently.

I grasped it by the hilt, taking care not to cut myself. It seemed to glow …. a curious aquamarine color. Like his eyes. “It’s beautiful.”

Luke leaned in towards me, placing one hand behind my neck, pulling me closer. “As are you,” he whispered. Then his lips met mine–

“What are you doing?” Two things happened: I jumped, letting the sword drop to the ground, and Luke spun around, nearly knocking Patricia over. “Is that what I think it is?”

Luke assumed an expression of pure innocence. Tough to imagine as he was an incubus. But still. “Nothing’s happening here. Johanna and I were just talking.”

“That’s right,” I said. “No need to worry.”

Patricia nodded slowly, as if she had to puzzle out each word. Maybe she was truly a bimbo. I didn’t know and I really didn’t care. “Okay. See you later.” She had this dazed look on her face, as if she were hypnotized– oh shit. He didn’t hypnotize her, did he?

Muwahhhhhaaaaa.

4 thoughts on “NaNo by voice.

  1. Hi im also writing a novel with NaNo. I have to go to school everyday and whatnot….could you please tell me how you use voice recording to type….it would help me out alot. THANK you so so much….and from those bits and peisces ur novel sounds pretty good

  2. Hi Katie,

    Awesome that you are doing Nano, too! I use a program called Dragon Naturally Speaking. I speak into a microphone and it types my words. 🙂 It takes a bit getting used to, and patience to train it, but it works beautifully for me. And lets me continue writing which is so important!

    Cheers,
    Erin

Leave a Reply

