Uncategorized

Voice recognition, the hospital, and plotbunnies.

That’s basically my week in a nutshell.

I had been forced to do the VR thing while my wonderful wrist tendonitis healed.  It’s still not 100%, but it’s a helluvah lot better than it was.  Am still going easy on it, taking breaks, and popping the motrin.

On the voice rec — it’s working, but not as well as I want it to.  Composing is getting easier, but the word miss-recognitions are killing me.  So I’m taking an unofficial break.  I may still need to use it on a regular basis.  The more you use it, the smarter it becomes.  So they say.  It’s Dragon Naturally Speaking, btw.  I’ve had it since 2003, when my first flareup occurred and gave me a horrific carpal tunnel scare.  Luckily, my EMG/torture came back negative, so I’ve been careful.

But not careful enough, evidently.

My mom’s in the hospital.  She was supposed to be released yesterday but she spiked a 101DEG fever, so they have her on three different antibiotics.  No one’s really sure why she got the infection/fever/whatever it is, but it seems to be coming down.  She’s READY to come home and we miss her.  My days have been basically getting up to help with the dog, sleeping in, eating something, go to hospital, eat something else, go to bed.  And nothing appeals to me, and I think I’m having sympathy pains.  French toast, however, sounds divine.

On writing.  Yeah.  Not much going on there.  Wrote a bit yesterday.  Pirouette just broke 20k.  I’m participating in AugNoWriMo with a goal of 10k.  I’m just shy of 4k.  Will I make it?  Not sure, but as long as I write something every day that I can (and am not so exhausted), it’s fine.  I’m going easy on myself, as this has been a rough month for me, with the tendonitis and Mom’s surgery. 

And I got a ton of friggin plot bunnies.  Why is it that when I’m not writing much, they all bombard me at once?  I had three yesterday.  Three.  Oh well.  I signed up for the outline marathon at Forward Motion, so I’ll be outlining something.  But what?  Such a hard choice……

So that’s what’s doing in my little corner of the universe.

I really don’t wanna go to work tomorrow.  Can I like, just call off?  Nah.

 ETA: No writing has occurred–too exhausted.  Mom is coming home today!

Leave a Reply

